Brenner Corridor Platform


The Brenner Base Tunnel (BBT) – a 64 km long horizontal railway tunnel running through the Alps from Innsbruck (Austria) to Fortezza (Italy) - can be considered as the world’s longest underground railway connection.

The cross-border section between Munich and Verona is a major bottleneck on the Scandinavian-Mediterranean Corridor and its removal is still crucial for the realisation of the entire corridor.

Already in 2007, the Brenner Corridor Platform (BCP) was set up by the European Coordinator (Karel van Miert) to guarantee an integrated approach for the Brenner Corridor between Munich and Verona.

In 2009, a Memorandum of Understanding was signed and the Brenner Action Plan 2009-2022 with 50 measures (incl. timetable and responsible actor) to pursue a modal shift from road to rail was introduced.

The BCP members are three Member States (Austria, Germany and Italy), five regions (Bavaria, Tirol, Alto Adige, Trento, Verona) as well as railway and highway companies and the European Commission.

Main aim of the platform is still an integrated transport policy for the Brenner Corridor. This includes the implementation of measures that promote an efficient use of the cross-border rail connection between Munich and Verona, enhance the necessary model shift and finally protect the alpine environment.


Read more:

FaLang translation system by Faboba



  • The density of railway lines in the EU is high in western and central parts of Europe and lower in the peripheral parts.

  • The highest network densities can be found in the regions of Germany, the Czech Republic, the Netherlands and Luxembourg (all above 300 km/1000 km² on average), followed by the regions of Poland, Romania, the Netherlands, France, Hungary and Luxembourg (all above 100 km/1000 km²).

  • Looking at individual regions, the densest railway networks are observed in capital regions: Berlin (650 km/1000 km²) and Praha (497 km/1000 km²).

  • The highest share of electrified railway lines registered the Benelux countries (Luxembourg: 95 %, the Netherlands: 76 %) and Sweden (76%).

© Eurostat 2016